top of page

Solar Plexus Chakra: Symbolism and Focus

At the solar plexus rests the third chakra of the same name (“manipura” in sanskrit). Like the diaphragm providing strength behind our breath and the abdominals providing strength to hold ourselves upright, the solar plexus chakra is the core of our power, our center of energy. After establishing a strong physical foundation and connection with the senses and emotions in the first two chakras, the consciousness gains the spark of its identity and autonomy at the third chakra. It is represented by the 10-petaled lotus, the downward triangle, the element of fire and the color yellow.

Symbolism and Focus

- The downward triangle can be viewed from two perspectives: energy being drawn in from the universe as fuel and energy being radiated out as willpower.

- The element of fire is not only a source of power itself but is also connected to light, heat and the sun, which are all forms of power.

- The color yellow represents the sun and its bright radiating energy.

The lower chakras preserve the individual self as it interacts with the world. The upper chakras connect us to the universe (the wider community outside of ourselves). The individual and the universe meet in perfect balance at the center, the fourth chakra. When this meeting occurs, having a strong sense of self lets us experience the vastness of the universe without being overwhelmed.

Fire is what transforms the passive energy of earth and water from the previous chakras into the activity and power necessary to develop the self. We grow beyond being motivated by base instincts and emotions. Fire ignites our lives with purpose. Through fire, the solar plexus chakra represents our willpower and personal identity. It governs our autonomy, our basic right to act on our own terms. When we exercise our freedom to choose, we exercise our will, which develops our individuality. We all deserve the freedom to take control of our own lives.

Design Notes

This design holds extra special meaning to me, because out of all the chakras, the solar plexus resonates with me the most. I knew from the start that I wanted to combine the 10-petaled lotus with the motif of a sun. It just radiates the feeling of power, and I wanted to continue that motif with the gold plating, even though the color combination doesn’t show up well in a digital format. I just know it will look stunning in physical form. My favorite parts are the little “droplets” of sun rays between each flame. They’re so simple but whimsical and remind me of sunshine on my face. The fire shapes took a bit of work to visualize just right on such a small scale, as well as positioning them in a way that worked with the triangle in the center. I’m quite happy with how the overall design turned out, and I hope it brings as much joy to others as it does to me.

Continue with Part 2 of the Solar Plexus Chakra guide here.

Credits and Resources:

Eastern Body Western Mind by Anodea Judith by Shai Tubali by Lizzy Martin

My Other Chakra Guides:

Chakras 101: Energy and Balance

Root Chakra: Part 1 and Part 2

Sacral Chakra: Part 1 and Part 2

Solar Plexus Chakra: Part 1 and Part 2

Heart Chakra: Part 1 and Part 2

Throat Chakra: Part 1 and Part 2

Third Eye Chakra: Part 1 and Part 2

Crown Chakra: Part 1 and Part 2


bottom of page